New name for Sahara Pune IPL team : Sahara Pune Warriors

by khalid on 27/04/2010 · 0 comments

Indian Premier League (IPL) has 8 teams for current seasion IPL3 but in next seasion IPL4, there will be 10 teams. Two new teams had been created and sold out. Sahara Adventure Sports Group had won the Pune franchise for a whopping $370 million. The other franchise went to Rendezvous Sports World Limited, which clinched Kochi as the other new IPL team.

The new Indian Premier League (IPL) team owned by the Sahara India Parivar will be known as Sahara Pune Warriors. The name and the logo of the team – a warrior sitting on a horse – was unveiled in Pune recently by Sahara India chairman Subroto Roy. He said in an interview that he wanted to go for Kanpur team as he is from Lucknow and it would be very easy for them to operate it from there but due to lack of infrastructure in Kanpur they avoid the idea.

The Sahara Pune team will make its IPL debut in 2011 IPL4, and will play its home matches at the Maharashtra Cricket Association stadium currently under construction about 25 km outside the city Pune.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: